Where is the Seven Deadly Sins List in the Bible?

List of the Seven Deadly Sins

List of the Seven Deadly Sins

The list of the seven deadly sins are listed in the Bible in Proverbs 6:16-19:

16 These six hath Jehovah hated, Yes, seven are abominations to his soul.
17 Eyes high--tongues false--And hands shedding innocent blood--
18 A heart devising thoughts of vanity--Feet hasting to run to evil--
19 A false witness who doth breathe out lies--And one sending forth contentions between brethren.

~From Youngs Literal Translation.


The seven deadly sins, also known as the cardinal sins, are a classification of vices used in early Christian teachings to educate and protect followers from basic human instincts. It is often said in the Bible that God punishes the wicked, and this is something that people often cite as unfair and a reason to avoid religions that believe it. Does God punish the wicked for not living up to His standards, or does everyone simply get what they want? We call the results of these sins consquences

There are two types of sin and they are as follows: venial which is forgiven without the need for Confession and capital which can afford you to damnation. Beginning in the early 14th-century, the popularity of the 7 deadly sins with artists of the time engrained them in human culture around the world. The 7 deadly sins are Pride, Greed, Lust, Wrath, Gluttony, Sloth and Envy. Attempting to destroy/fight these Seven Deadly Sins we have the Seven Holy Virtues.

  1. Pride is an excessive belief in one's own abilities.
  2. Envy is wanting what others have, be it status, abilities, or possessions.
  3. Gluttony is the desire to eat or consume more than you require.
  4. Lust is a powerful craving for such as sex, power and money.
  5. Anger is the loss of rational self-control and the desire to harm others.
  6. Greed is the desire for material wealth or gain.
  7. Sloth is laziness and the avoidance of work.

Many of these deadly sins are very similar: envy, gluttony, lust and greed are all about desire. There is also a hidden lack of concern for others in at least envy and anger.

As with other religious rule-sets, these pretty much hit the nail on the head in terms of a system for social harmonization or social control. Few people will openly admit to any of them and this attests to the success in the inculcation of these as anti-values in the Christian world.

There are some peculiarities to this list. First off the number seven happens to be the size of our short-term memory, which is a real limit to the number of things we can hold in our mind at one time. These 7 deadly sins are usually thought of as an action because the list names dispositions rather than people actions. Secondly another thought is that traits such as cruelty, malevolence, hypocrisy or ingratitude are left out of this list and should be part of it. Thirdly some of the sins are arguably connected with virtue: for example, proper pride is allied to the self-esteem that derives from doing something well, and a central motivation to virtue; proper anger is allied to the indignation that immoral actions warrant, and lust is nature's way of ensuring procreation.


Proverbs 6:16-19

16 There are six things the LORD hates,
seven that are detestable to him:

17 haughty eyes,
a lying tongue,
hands that shed innocent blood,

18 a heart that devises wicked schemes,
feet that are quick to rush into evil,

19 a false witness who pours out lies
and a man who stirs up dissension among brothers.

More info from the Bible, the 7 deadly sins: Seven Deadly Sins
7 Deadly Sins from the Bible

Thou Shalt Not

Thou shalt not kill. Thou shalt not commit adultery. Thou shalt not bear false witness.



Jesus Saves Ministry
1271 Eastland Rd.
Sparta, TN 38583
Telephone: 256-523-6425
Email: Gift products



eXTReMe Tracker